The Board

Martin Langford

Interim Chair

ML smlMartin Langford worked for the NSW Department of Education until 1998, at which time he left teaching to pursue his interest in poetry. For many years, he was active in the organisation of poetry events, directing three Australian Poetry Festivals (2001, 2004, 2006). He has published six books of poetry including The Human Project (Puncher & Wattmann, 2009) and Ground (P&W 2015). He is the editor of Harbour City Poems: Sydney in Verse 1788-2008 (P&W, 2009) and co-editor of the upcoming anthology, Contemporary Australian Poetry (tbp 2016). Langford has been a poetry critic and essayist for Meanjin since 2011. He joined the Board in 2011 as a Foundation Board Member.

Anna Lin

Company Secretary

Anna LinAnna Lin is a legal counsel at Medibank Private Limited and provides general commercial and corporate legal advice to the business.  Primarily, Anna is responsible for providing advice in the negotiation of key contracts, significant dispute matters and merger and acquisition transactions.  Anna acted as a key legal adviser in the initial public offering of the Medibank Private Limited shares on the Australian Securities Exchange.  Relevantly, Anna also acted as the deputy Company Secretary to the Medibank Board Privatisation Committee.  Anna is also a member of the commercial leadership team responsible for the management of the ahm branded private health insurance business.  Prior to joining Medibank Private Limited, Anna was a Senior Associate at Brian Ward & Partners, experienced in providing advice about general corporate and commercial law, mergers and acquisitions and commercial litigation in the Victorian Supreme Court and Federal jurisdictions.    Anna graduated from Monash University and holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws with honours. Anna was also a committee member to the Victorian Law Institute Property Law Committee.  Joined Board in 2015.

Pradhima Shyamsunder


PJ smlPradhima Shyamsunder is a Chartered Accountant with Big 4 experience who is passionate about the non-profit sector.  She has worked for Westmead Hospital, RACS, KPMG Sydney and volunteered with Palmera Projects. Her experience includes financial management, management accounting, budget/forecast preparation, budget monitoring and control, procurement, contract management, strategic planning, financial accounting and reporting, policy and procedure audits and improvements, management of large teams, cash flow forecasts, detailed analysis of financial reports, board presentations, fixed asset management, acquisition accounting, management of client billing, technical accounting training and  business development to acquire new business. Joined Board in 2013, currently Treasurer.

David Musgrave

Interim Deputy Chair

DM smlDavid Musgrave is an award winning poet and publisher. He has published several books including To Thalia (Five Islands Press, 2004), On Reflection (Interactive, 2005), Watermark (Picaro, 2006) and Phantom Limb (JLP, 2009). He has won the Newcastle Prize (twice), the Grace Leven Prize and the Josephine Ulrick Prize. In addition he is founder and publisher of Puncher and Wattmann, which has published many significant Australian poets as well as fiction, criticism and biography. At present he teaches creative writing at the University of Newcastle. Joined Board in 2011 as a Foundation Board Member.

Paul Scully

Board Member

PSPaul Scully is an actuary by training and has enjoyed a forty-year career in financial services.  His last executive role was as Managing Director and CEO of ING Investment Management (INGIM) Asia Pacific and a member of INGIM’s global Board.  He now pursues a portfolio career of non-executive directorships and consulting roles, and has lectured at Macquarie University.  Walleah Press released his first poetry collection, An Existential Grammar, in April 2014 and his work has appeared in various online and print journals in Australia and the USA. Joined Board in 2014.

Lucy Dougan

Board Member

LD smlLucy Dougan is a widely published poet. Her first book, Memory Shell (Five Islands Press, 1998) won the Mary Gilmore Award. She has worked in arts administration and as a tertiary teacher of creative writing, literature and film. She has had poems commissioned for the Southern Forest Sculpture Walk at Northcliffe and for the reinterpretation of the Busselton Jetty, in collaboration with the sculptors Nicole and Alex Mickle. She is a former poetry editor of HEAT magazine. Her second collection, White Clay, was published by Giramondo in 2008.  In 2006 the manuscript of White Clay won the Arts ACT Alec Bolton Award for an unpublished manuscript. She currently works for the Westerly Centre at UWA in a research and administration role and is poetry editor of the University of Canberra’s online journal Axon: Creative Explorations. Her PhD, concerning representations of Naples, was awarded in 2010. Her chapbooks Meanderthals (Web Del Sol) and Against Lawns (Picaro) were both published in 2011. Her new book, The Guardians, was published with Giramondo in 2015. Joined Board in 2015.