The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for a new poem.

The Prize – now open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010).

The Prize was first awarded in 2005 (Stephen Edgar) and was renamed in 2011, following Peter Porter’s death.

Past winners include Tracy Ryan, Judith Beveridge, and Anthony Lawrence.

To date, Judith Bishop is the only poet to win the Prize twice.

Each year all the shortlisted poems are published in the magazine, giving them equal prominence.

The overall winner (who receives $5,000 and an Arthur Boyd print) is then named at a subsequent ceremony.

Entries are now open for the 2017 Porter Prize (worth $7,500).

Entries close 1 December 2016.

Click here for more information about the 2017 Porter Prize or to enter online through Australian Book Review.

Please read ABR’s Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting with queries about the Porter Prize.

Click here for more information about past winners and to read their poems.

Click here for more information about the 2017 judges.