Key dates for all 2020 Awards

Open call for entries – Monday 2 September 2019

Close of entries – Monday 30 September 2019

Shortlist announcement – Monday 2 December 2019

Winner announcement – Thursday 30 January 2020

Books published between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2019 are eligible for entry into the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. Please note, books published after close of entries (30 September 2019) can be submitted as a printed and bound proof along with a PDF file.

Click here for conditions and guidelines for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2020.

Information and enquiries

Hiroki Kobayashi
Special Projects Coordinator, The Wheeler Centre
Telephone: (03) 9094 7800

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the main suite of awards – fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, writing for young adults and the biennial award for Indigenous writing – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000. 

The winners of these award categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Entries for all categories of the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards are now open. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 30 January 2020.

The biennial award for Indigenous writing will next be awarded in 2021 for books published between 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2020. Entries will open in 2020.