The Naomi Williams Poetry Prize is named in honour of Nay who was a strong, proud Wiradjuri woman from the Brungle/Tumut area of NSW.

Nay loved to write poetry about the river, her family and all the elements of love that she treasured.

This poetry prize aims to support other Wiradjuri writers and encourage more poetry about life in Wiradjuri country.

To enter:

Artwork by Naomi Williams.



Respect, Recognition and Reconciliation

Winning entrants:

  • Adult: Wiradjuri writers over 25
  • Youth: Wiradjuri writers 13 to 24
  • Kids: All writers 12 and under living or learning on Wiradjuri country

All submissions must be received by 17 June 2022.

Winners will be announced during NAIDOC week from 3 – 10 July 2022. Winners in the Adult and Youth category will receive $300. Winners in the Kids category will receive $100. Highly commended entries will receive a $50 book voucher.

2022 Judges:

Aunty Cheryl Penrith: proud, strong Wiradjuri woman, a great mentor, and loving Aunty to Nay.

Aunty Anita Heiss: proud, strong Wiradjuri woman, author, poet, satirist and social commentator.

Amy Williams: proud, strong Wiradjuri woman and loving cousin to Nay.

George Newhouse: CEO and Principal Solicitor, National Justice Project.